When Einstein said “You are what you think.”, he did not know how capitalism’s intellectual slaves  were going to use and abuse  his statement  to corrupt  millions of individuals.

First, when  most people  were all made obsessed with their weights and diet. Some said “You are what you eat.”. That  made me laugh a lot. What do you mean I am what I eat? We all know  chemical contents of foods  have different effect   in our body, they can change our behaviours. But how can you say that food can control human beings and make them who they are. We all have a brain, which can be affected by chemical intakes but we are still in control. How can you dictate me that whatever I eat shapes my personality and controls my body ,brain  and soul?

Albert Einstein:"You are what you think."

This can only be true if all those  food companies worked  with politicians to manipulate  the societies  but of course not every individuals .Otherwise it undermines  our  intellectual and spiritual existence.
Imagine if this was true, if politicians and those business men worked together to  manipulate the billions. “Oh ,no I want my son to become  a conservative, so I better buy the milk which contains so and so chemical .” ,a mum would say in a shop. “No, I don’t eat fish , I don’t want turn to a liberal democrat. I only eat green foods because I vote for labours.”, etc… would be a normal conversation. Well, in this scenario all the anarchists and independent thinkers would starve. Luckily it has not happened yet despite the fact that science is controlled by politics.

On the other hand ,can everybody eat same food  as we are still fighting  poverty ?Does that mean ,one can be a better person than  the one who eats poor quality food just because his  budget is small? Are we still what we eat? Just laugh!

Today’s philosophers and their followers think  that , “We are what we do.” Really? Are you kidding me? How many of us do what we really like to do? In fact ,most of us don’t even know what we like which is the most painful thing one can ever experience , after all those identity attacks of adverts. But let’s talk about the first one.

We all spend more time at work than we spend time for ourselves which is why most of us don’t  know who we are .However  some   have enough time to think on our behalf and say, “You are what you do.” No we are not. None of the things  I do in that hierarchic system can define me. I am not the person who greets my boss that tells me what to do all the time  ,I am not the one who explains the same thing to clients according to some stupid policy hundred times a day. I cannot abandon human life just because  there is no financial benefit  in helping them. But I do, because this is how things work according to big bosses’ book.

I am not the one who gives fake smile to my colleagues who are made paranoid about their co-workers   by the same policy and can not be human to each other. I am the one who sees how people at work have become a puppet. Does  anyone care  about those puppets  who don’t want to lose their jobs but their identities? Most people  forget one thing that their lives are cheaper than the companies’  broken car  and  they are more disposable than their bosses’  handkerchief .

Therefore don’t even dare to say that you are what you do. The uniform I wear every day does not  define 0.00001% of my personality. Who are you telling me who I am .I know who I am. I am a thinker ,no matter how hard you try to stop me from thinking  I am a thinker and I will always  be. Stop raping Einstein’s statement .It is “You are what you think.”

“You are what you do” is the statement that  remains exclusive since life is not fair, not everyone has the same opportunity or chance to use their potential to do what they really like following a higher education.

If you do what you really love with a huge passion, your job can define  50% of you ,only if your company works ethically ,respects what you think and gives you a chance to activate your thoughts. Only if you don’t have to be a puppet , pulled and pushed by your bosses  or by  their policy thousand times a day, then yes you can be what you do but  only by  50%. What is the other 50%? That’s you or you searching who really you are.

Comments
  1. Moataz El-Gohary says:

    I totally agree 🙂

Leave a Reply

